Hung in the Pasadena Library

Ok, I went to my gym in Pasadena, 24 Hour Fitness, and on the way home decided to stop by the Pasadena Library on Walnut, a beautiful library that I enjoy and use the computer lab when I want to get out of my solitary life at my own computer.  But when I pull into park, there is major filming going on and it just happens to be for HUNG on HBO. The show starring Thomas Jane who is well endowed and well …hung! Not only do I love this show but I have always enjoyed his work, and especially on this show. So here I sit and I can hear Jane’s voice as they shoot upstairs, directly above where I’m sitting…so it’s a strange but fun experience.

I actually met Jane a few months after I moved to Los Angeles. It was at a small art gallery that’s part of a large shop somewhere on Hollywood Boulevard, I think but more in the Los Feliz area. He was there with his daughter…he’s married to Patricia Arquette of MEDIUM fame. I saw him again last summer during the Television Critics Association press tour. He was on a panel to promote HUNG and seemed a bit overwhelmed if not even surly while answering questions.

But it’s hard to argue that he’s not charismatic…a man that women love and men like, too. A manly man who probably could chop wood if he had too… ruggedly handsome but not a metrosexual. I hope. It’s hard to deal with men who spend more time grooming than I do…YUCK. I “heard” he had some drinking problems, which may have something to do with my he and Arquette were separated for quite a while but I think they got back together.

As TRUE BLOOD is off the air and IN TREATMENT and other of my favorite HBO shows…I’m very glad to see HUNG in production and will be excited when it returns to air. 

Tonight is one of my favorite TV nights. I watch LOST, which I have stuck through from the very first episode. While I’m not as jazzed about it now…I am staying through to the finish and it will go down as one of the most innovative, compelling television shows ever made on television and one that changed the form but has never been imitated. Then I love CBS’s THE GOOD WIFE (finally there is a new episode tonight after several weeks of repeats) .. and NBC’s PARENTHOOD. Thank goodness for on-demand because those two dramas are on at the same time. Then I watch FX’s JUSTIFIED, which I love. But then I would watch Timothy Olyphant walk across the street, and Thomas Jane, too.

These two actors have a lot in common, at least on screen. Both sexy, rugged, charismatic…and they also starred in a movie together, too. Oh, what was it…that horror, sci-fi hybrid where they, along with Jason Lee and that wonderful British actor who was on NBC’s LIFE that was cancelled, are all in a cabin in the woods. Since childhood, they’ve all had telepathic powers…oh yeah, it’s called DREAMCATCHER and it was directed by Lawrence Kasdan. I just watched it again the other night…and what a treat it was watching those four actors, all talented, manly men but cerebral, too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Television Coverage

Leave a Reply

